Greatest Film Moments – Dracula

And when I say Dracula, I mean Bela Lugosi behind the fangs and billowing cape. Dracula is the vampire that is forever old yet forever new, revamped and rebooted over the decades.

I sat down after months of teeny bopper vampire romances and raunchy bloodsuckers (Twilight and True Blood respectfully – I am admittedly a fan of both series) to watch the classic vampire film Dracula.

The dark mysterious landscapes and vampire bats flying in the night. Stepping down the steps of his castle, Dracula commands the room and Mr. Renfield in his cobwebbed infested home.

Join me with the creatures of the night, we know the sweet music that they make. I enjoy an old black and white film, unlike the majority of my twenty-something brethren, with its dramatic movements and prolonged stares.

The story follows the tale of Count Dracula, which most of us know whether your knowledge comes from Bram Stoker’s original novel or the numerous film adaptations over the decades.

Dracula travels from Transylvania to England, stalking the streets of London at night without his vampire brides and sucking the blood from unsuspecting victims of his stare. And what a stare it is!

I have been known from time to time to chuckle at the absurdity of it when his eyes are silhouetted in such a bright light while the rest of his face is cast in shadows. It’s the undead version of crazy eyes, and I must admit that I love every minute of it.

Renfield is by far my favorite character of Dracula, especially in this version of the film. His uncanny loyalty and devotion to his master, he is simpering and violent with the wild idea that he will be turned into a vampire if he does as his master wishes.

His unnerving cackle from the ship’s cargo hold when Dracula arrives in London is oddly frightening, those eyes of his are manic and dark. He is crazy and deranged, and I cannot stop loving his dimwitted and fiendish character, no matter the film version.

Dracula is wrought with terribly dramatic moments at times, the count’s reaction to the mirror is classic and the crazy eyes are ever-present during that scene.

When Dracula and Van Helsing face off in the mansion where Mina lives, the count stretches his hand out like a claw causing me to snort in humor (take my hand, take my strong hand).

Every vampire bat scene is comedic, hovering in the windows before Dracula blinks into existence before his lovely victims Lucy and Mina.

Dracula is classic, and it should be viewed at least once during your life as a horror fanatic. Drive a stake through my heart and call me Lucy, but I cannot easily forsake the original film version of our favored count.

~ by nicmarray on October 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
