Horrifying Femme Fatale – Amanda Young

Jigsaw’s chosen protegé to continue his legacy.

Amanda Young is first introduced as the only surviving victim of the Jigsaw Killer in Saw.

Jigsaw targets her because she is a drug addict. Amanda admits that he helped her.

Not only does Jigsaw help her, but he acts as a father figure. Amanda is his apprentice, claiming that his test saved her life and agreeing to join Jigsaw.

However, Amanda does not allow her victims to learn from their tests, ignoring Jigsaw’s M.O. Jigsaw tests her once again, but Amanda fails to learn from his teachings.

Memorable Quotes

What is the cure for Cancer, Eric? The cure for death itself. The answer is immortality. By creating a legacy, by living a life worth remembering, you become immortal. So now we find the tables are turned. It is I who will carry on John’s work after he dies, and you are my first test subject. Now you are locked away, helpless and alone. – Saw II (2005)

Take it. Please, it’s yours. Come on. I go for the neck, but I’m not the brain surgeon. Just do it quietly so John doesn’t hear me die. Otherwise, he is likely to get upset, rip off his heart rate monitor – boom! Then, you just have to find the sensor and disarm it so you can walk more than thirty feet out that door without the collar detonating. Or, you could try and take the collar off yourself. But that could be tricky. The slightest knock in the wrong place could trigger it. I should know. I built it. – Saw III (2006)

So when’s your test, Detective? – Saw VI (2009)

Amanda is a layered character, first shown as a lost soul and a victim and later shown as a smart-mouthed protegé with a chip on her shoulder. She goes through such a transformation through the Saw films, her back story integrated into the storyline behind Jigsaw’s games.

Her part in the film franchise is irreplaceable; Amanda has been a drug addict, a victim, a survivor, a pseudo final girl, and a villain. Amanda is as essential to the Saw films as Jigsaw himself.

~ by nicmarray on February 8, 2010.

One Response to “Horrifying Femme Fatale – Amanda Young”

  1. I work at a haunted house called Asylum 49(the haunted hospital) in Tooele UT, in the 2009 season I played Amanda Young. I was in the saw room with my best friend Tiffany who was the role of Billy on the tricycle. This was by far my favorite part I’ve had at Asylum 49 because I had so much fun, and I LOVE SAW!!! Especially the first three. Amanda was always my favorite character and I was ecstatic to find out I got to play her part. I had the reverse bear trap prop and everything. I even got a compliment from a customer saying I played the part really well, and I even looked and sounded like Amanda. I also won best actress that year. (: If I could, I would go back to playing that part every year. Unfortunately we rebuild the hospital every year so every room is different. So there was only one opportunity I had to be Amanda, AND I TOOK IT!!! 😀 *I LOVE AMANDA YOUNG!!*

Leave a Reply

 
