The Crazies Quick Review

Directed by Breck Eisner

The Crazies tells the story of the small town of Ogden Marsh, Iowa plagued by insanity and then death after a mysterious toxin contaminates their water supply.

Don’t drink the water or you might end up going insane, one by one members of the small town community fall victim to the toxin.

Another remake in the trend, The Crazies reinvents George A. Romero’s 1973 original film.

But the troubles in Ogden Marsh have only just begun, containment protocol brings the military to the small town.

Herding the townsfolk to separate the infected from the uninfected, the sheriff is separated from his pregnant wife.

The Crazies brought jump scares and tension, which kept me on the edge of my seat at key moments. The scene in the car wash was definitely a favorite of mine. Bringing gore, tension, and some black humor, The Crazies was a good time at the theater last night.

~ by nicmarray on March 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “The Crazies Quick Review”

  1. This is probably one of the remakes that I actually enjoyed. The original is a great film but lacked any sort of budget to really do anything with it. Although the ending of this one was very cheesy!

  2. The more I thought about this film the more underwhelmed I was. The concept is so promising, but I just don’t think Eisner had the chops to capture those individual moments of horror. Aside form the pitchfork hospital scene (which of course ended the same way three other almost-kill-the-heroes scenes did), nothing ever really grabbed me. I liked the acting and some shots, but this ultimately felt too slick to actually be scary. For me.

    Especially since after, I snuck into The Blind Side and as we know, that was terrifying.

  3. I think that my experience with this film was a bit enhanced by the simple fact that I went with a friend. She is easily startled and frightened during films that are suspense, thriller, or horror; she certainly jumped and squirmed in her seat during this film. The ending was quite predictable and left me feeling a bit miffed, but what can I say other than I might be a bit jaded with some horror film styles.

    @Emily – Love the comment about The Blind Side! I know it looked utterly terrifying to me.

Leave a Reply

 
