Top 10 Reasons Why I Love Repo! The Genetic Opera

Considering that the content of Gruesome Details has been only reviews as of late, I have been contemplating reasons why I love and why I loathe films in the horror genre.

The result is this tentative series of posts simply put as Top 10 Reasons, which gives reasons why I either love or loathe the film in question. Let’s begin with Repo! The Genetic Opera.

10. Paris Hilton loses her face. Desperate to be the star of the genetic opera, Amber Sweets loses her face mid-performance after yet another surgery. Too bad the audience will remember you for something other than your singing… Thank God!

9. Another film is being released that is based on concepts and elements originating from Repo! The Genetic Opera. Don’t hate (okay maybe a little), but it is said imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

8. Joan Jett makes a cameo during Shilo’s rocking song “Seventeen,” which is all about growing up, kicking ass, and taking names. Take that daddy, I’m a rocker!

7. Sarah Brightman as Blind Mag. She originated the role of Christine Daae in Phantom of the Opera; the role was written specifically for her. I am a big fan of musicals, both on screen and on stage.

6. GraveRobber, the narrator of our little rock opera, is undeniably sexy to me. I might be a little bit warped in my opinions, but he really brings a different level of sex appeal to the story. And he moves the story along with his interactions with other main characters.

5. It is a horror musical! Combining my favorite genres in a showcase of lyrics, blood, and gore, Repo! The Genetic Opera brings it all to center stage.

4. Rotti Largo is such a sneaky bastard. Moving everyone around like pieces on a chessboard, but not even the president of GeneCo can manipulate every single person captured in his web of lies and deception.

3. Bill Moseley as Luigi Largo, who better to play the abusive homicidal psychopath of the Largo children than Bill. Luigi viciously stabs his victims for something as little as spilling coffee on him.

2. Shilo survives and walks away from the genetic opera stronger than ever. The heroine leaves triumphantly, leaving the pain and the destruction her life had been enveloped in behind.

1. Giles rocks the house without the Slayer. I can totally understand why Willow had a crush on him in high school and why when she heard him sing that she was reminded of said crush.

~ by nicmarray on March 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Top 10 Reasons Why I Love Repo! The Genetic Opera”

  1. Have you ever been to a live shadowcast? I had a lot of fun at one last summer, especially since the creators did a very warm Q&A after. The GraveRobber himself even sang! I’m not the biggest fan of the film–I have to really, really be in the right mood–but there’s a lot to enjoy about it as long as you’re in the right mood.

  2. I have not been to a live shadowcast, I would love to experience that!

Leave a Reply

 
