This Week’s Halloween Treats

Halloween brings so much more than costumes and candies. Killer deals and holiday specialties are placed on the shelves for the little horror junkie in all of us.

And the first full week of October was no exception, bringing those breakfast cereals that only come out during this month.

You know what I’m talking about: Boo Berry, Frankenberry, and Count Chocula. And this year brings some fancy imagery to our classic cereal monsters.

Not only did I purchase a box of each sugary delights, I was lucky enough to find some other treats.

Amazingly, I found Tales from the Crypt Seasons 1 and 2 (10% and 50% off respectively) at the local Barnes & Noble.

The two-disc and three-disc sets are only the beginning to the entire collection of Tales from the Crypt for me, which I hope to find equally on sale during the rest of October.

It has been too long since I faced the ghoulish Cryptkeeper; Tales from the Crypt frightened me when I was child. It’s time for another go at the macabre tales from the crypt.

But this week’s ultimate treat was Alfred Hitchcock – The Masterpiece Collection, which I have been eyeballing for months.

Fifteen discs – fourteen films packaged in a beautiful velvet box; it has been taunting me for months behind the checkout at Barnes & Noble. I could no longer resist it!

Films included: Saboteur, Shadow of a Doubt, Rope, Rear Window, The Trouble with Harry, The Man Who Knew Too Much, Vertigo, Psycho, The Birds, Marnie, Torn Curtain, Topaz, Frenzy, and Family Plot.

It’s going to be an amazing month counting down to Halloween!

~ by nicmarray on October 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
